Addicted to learning

Writing 101, Day 4.

Today’s suggestion from WordPress Blogging U.

“Write about a loss: something (or someone) that was part of your life, and isn’t any more. (A twist: Make today’s post the first in a three-post series.)”

My name is El Amarillo Camino and I am an addict.

A reformed addict to be fair, and in my case sadly so. I was addicted to the Open University, that marvellous degree awarding institution set up in the late 1960’s to enable under-privileged people to go to university. It has no entry qualifications; you don’t even physically attend it. It is all done via post, or nowadays on-line.

My path to this addiction started three decades ago, with an introductory course to the social sciences. This was an easy choice at that time they only did five so-called foundation courses and you had to start with one of them. Since I was disillusioned with science, hated maths, and had no interest in learning the arts or humanities it was the social sciences!

Year one ended in success. I passed the course, and they had me hooked. I was going on to do more; the only question was which one. Psychology seemed like a good idea, so I looked at all the courses in psychology and chose the wrong one. Half way through it I realised that I need to have experience of child care. Newly married and struggling to pay the mortgage, neither we nor our friends had kids!

Year two ended in frustration, and the withdrawal was hurting. I needed to do another course. February came round and I am on a sociology course. Children not required. Years three and four were good, with a second and third sociology based course. I now need one more for my degree! Year five started okay – though the course was boring. Criminology had seemed like a good idea but it was turning out not to be. Then a crazy accident that put me hors-de-combat for year, and dealt a death-blow to my skirmish with criminology.

Fast forward a few years and I still need a final course to complete my degree. The health is returning and with it the pangs of my addiction. I need to learn again. The intervening years have changed my outlook and a philosophy course now hooks me. It is fabulous, just the right combination of challenge and interest. And in that most noble of subjects – the very word means love of wisdom.

Year five – I graduate. I have done it. Success!!!

But underneath the addiction remains…

2 Replies to “Addicted to learning”

  1. It’s great to have a love of learning. And nowadays we have so many resources available outside of the traditional college. My country library has courses online and I have used Kahn Academy to brush up on Algebra. I need to keep learning as well. It is essential for my brain and well being.

    Like

    1. Thank you for commenting 🙂

      I have now just started a MOOC. I was unsure about pure online learning. My first two attempts earlier in the years ended quickly.
      Yet, this one is going really well. I guess it depends on the subject and how it is presented.

      I definitely agree continuous learning is essential. Years past I was taught that the brain is fixed, now all the research appears to show that it responds to use. A little like a muscle does.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

