A train ride with my dream reader

Blogging 101: Dream Reader

Today’s Assignment: publish a post for your dream reader, and include a new-to-you element in it.


IMAG0752
My reader’s seat awaits her

The train was running slowly, the journey was going to take three times as long as normal. “Engineering work” the ticket collector had said, “this train is often delayed as they do the engineering work at night”. You had disagreed:  you always caught the eleven or eleven thirty train you had told me, and was usually on time.

I was impressed you were still wide awake, I was dozing off, it had been a long day for me. But you were annoyed as you would be up again and on the six-thirty train tomorrow morning. I still wonder how you manage it, day after day. Yet, why did you manage it. You were nicely dressed, you were in a first-class seat, and your bag was very smart. Money you clearly had, but time was precious. You were money rich and time poor.

You are my dream reader. Perhaps you have consciously decided that this is the life you were born to lead, that this is the perfect life for you. On the other hand is it just a habit: the habit of working; the habit of assessing your success by your income; the habit of taking pride in the number of hours you work.

I wonder. And that my dream reader is all I would like you to do. I would like you to wonder, to ask yourself those questions. Nothing more, for who I am to tell you how to live your life. I just wonder whether you are in fact living your life – or are you just working it.

Leave a Reply

