Super sight, or a sense of smell?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Super Sensitive.”

If you were forced to give up one sense, but gain super-sensitivity in another, which senses would you choose?

It is almost Faustian, I would agree to abandon one sense in order to gain super-sensitivity in another. Sight, it has to be sight. I would want super sight. Sight and hearing are my two favorite senses. But with extra-sensitive hearing, I would always be afraid I might hear things that I didn’t want to! Not that I am super-sensitive, just well aware that we all say things out of another’s hearing that, well, are useful for letting of steam, and not really meant.

So sight it is. I marvel at buzzards and kestrels who fly high above the ground and yet spot their little prey with amazing sight. That and the sad truth that I now need two pairs of glasses. The distance ones I am well used to: the reading ones are still really frustrating.

Which sense to give up is less easy. I will have to go for smell, on the basis that it perhaps the one I use least. Though that is not to say I wouldn’t miss it. Would it be worth losing the sense of smell for improved sight. That depends on how much my sight was improved. I suppose the devil is in the detail, and so we return to Faust.

Leave a Reply

