Luring me back to cancel half a line

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Personal Space.”

To what extent is your blog a place for your own self-expression and creativity vs. a site designed to attract readers? How do you balance that? If sticking to certain topics and types of posts meant your readership would triple, would you do it?

This is my blog: I have chosen the name, the design and its purpose. It is for me, for my own enjoyment; and to practice my writing. Hence I write about what appeals to me, I use vocabulary that speaks to me, and I say what I feel.

Thus to answer the question posed by this prompt, a tripling of traffic would not lure me back to cancel half a line, nor wash out a word. Attracting readers is secondary. Although, contrariwise, if you are reading this then that is lovely.

I love the idea of blogging, of writing something, publishing it myself, and then getting responses from people I don’t yet know. And so, I hope you are enjoying these posts, or perhaps finding them thought-provoking. I do care about this; I love reading your blogs, hearing your thoughts, and seeing your pictures.

I see no contradiction here. I like blogs that are simple, true, and authentic, with posts that are genuinely felt, not merely aimed at increasing readership. I like to read them and I like to write them; and I assume my readers do too.

Leave a Reply

