Ask yourself why: then play, experiment, have fun

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: Key Takeaway
Give your newer sisters and brothers-in-WordPress one piece of advice based on your experiences blogging.
If you’re a new blogger, what’s one question you’d like to ask other bloggers?


Ask yourself why. Why are you blogging, and who for.

And be honest. If it is for fun, to share your life stories, your passions, or simply because you wish to try it. That’s fine. There are only right answers here. You may have a definite goal, you may not. Either can work. In my view, goals are for work, (and perhaps not even there, though that argument belongs on another blog altogether).

The key for me is for you to be aware of why you are writing: then go for it. Play, experiment, have fun. Only you need know why you are writing, and only you will know whether you are being successful.

Equally, feel free to share your ‘why’. Personally, I like to see why someone’s blogging. I don’t know, I find it adds something to my enjoyment of their blog. So my about page is largely about why I am blogging here; and of course writing it down helps me to understand it, and tends to keep me on track!

Image credits: The town of Why, in Arizona 🙂
By Ken Lund (Flickr: Why, Arizona (2)) [CC BY-SA 2.0], via Wikimedia Commons

Leave a Reply

