…in a yellow El Camino, listening to Howling Wolf.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: This Is Your Song
Take a line from a song that you love or connect with. Turn that line into the title of your post.


I took a line from a song by Lucinda Williams and turned it into an entire blog. I liked the first two series of True Blood, and I bought the soundtrack. One of the songs was Lake Charles. I liked it, and especially the line “We used to drive, through Lafayette and Baton Rouge, in a yellow El Camino, listening to Howling Wolf”.

Source: Autohistorian on Flickr (CC BY 2.0)

Chevrolet made El Camino’s from the late fifties until the eighties; I saw one or two when I lived in the mid-west for a while.  They were not that common, being something of hybrid between a pickup and a sedan. I just remember liking the name. And I like the colour yellow, so the line in the song resonated.

I was looking to start a new blog, one that was a world away from my business ones. I wanted to experiment with writing for fun, for the simple joy of it. I wanted a name therefore that was different. My friend blogs under the name of a (to me obscure) renaissance explorer.  That sounded cool, and I searched and found one: but that blog took on life of its own and is exploring other territory.

I was back to square one, and the line from Lake Charles came back to me. Excitedly I rushed to the computer. Was the WordPress name taken, could I get the Twitter handle, was the username available. Yes, yes, and no! But El Camino is Spanish, so was the full name available in Spanish, it was. A new WordPress was identity created and the journey had begun. For me a big part of the fun of blogging is the theme. I am convinced that the design and the content influence each other and so I spent ages looking for a theme. This yellow based theme from Anders Noren suited perfectly. Its default header image reminded me of my time in Minnesota and was the requisite colour. I guess the tag line then flowed naturally “Travelling back to blogging university, in a yellow El Camino, listening to Howlin’ Wolf”.

Rather later I found that whilst el camino translates as ‘the path’, yellow, i.e. amarillo, el camino translates to Yellow Brick Road! I knew then that I was going to enjoy my journey in, or is that on, my Yellow El Camino.


Image: Autohistorian on Flickr
(CC BY 2.0)

4 Replies to “…in a yellow El Camino, listening to Howling Wolf.”

Leave a Reply

