Press F5 to save

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: World’s Best Widget

You’ve been granted magical engineering skills, but you can only use them to build one gadget or machine. What do you build?


I play computer role playing games. Perhaps more accurately I should stand up and say that I am addicted to them. I restrict myself to those from a certain developer, since I do really like to have a life outside of gaming.

There is for me one indispensable element of these games. I can save them. I can get to a difficult part, and I can save my current progress; if it all goes wrong, I can them reload my saved game and try it again. Which is a fascinating concept.

How could we use this in real life. And how would we. One could effectively live for ever, as some of my games are wont to do. Endlessly exploring options; reliving events to get the most out of them; undoing dreadful errors, and correcting them.

I have played entire games in the role of a wizard; then reloaded an early save, made a few changes and played the whole thing again this time as a rogue. Which leads inevitably to the darker aspects of this facility. We could live our lives, as total rogues, reloading an earlier save each time we were caught. Or worse, experimenting until we found the perfect heist, or murder.

Oh well, it was a nice idea.

Image credits: Taken by the uploader, w:es:Usuario:BarcexEspañol: Tomada por w:es:Usuario:Barcex [GFDL, CC-BY-SA-3.0 or CC BY-SA 2.5], via Wikimedia Commons

2 thoughts on “Press F5 to save

Leave a Reply

